5 Best Surge Protectors with USB Ports in 2026
5 surge protectors with USB ports we evaluated, with the scope question competitors skip: many combined units surge-protect the AC outlets but provide no meaningful surge suppression on the USB output circuitry itself.

New to Amazon Prime?
Get fast, free shipping on every pick in this guide, plus Prime Video and exclusive deals.
Try Prime Free





At a Glance

Surge Protector Power Strip - Nuetsa Flat Plug Extension Cord with 8 Outlets and 4 USB Ports, 6 Feet Power Cord, 2700 Joules, ETL Listed, Black
โ See why we picked it
Power Strip, ALESTOR Surge Protector with 12 Outlets and 4 USB Ports, 6 Feet Extension Cord, 2700 Joules, ETL Listed, Black
โ See why we picked it
Surge Protector Power Strip - CHCORE 5Ft Braided Extension Cord with 8 Outlets with 4 USB (2 USB C) Charging Ports, Flat Plug Multi Plug Outlet Extender Charging Station for Home Office, ETL, White
โ See why we picked it
Surge Protector Power Strip 15 Ft Cord, Ultra Thin Flat Extension Cord with 8 Outlets 4 USB Ports(2 USB C), Flat Plug Power Strip, 15 Ft Long Braided Power Cord for Home, Office, Dorm Room Essentials
โ See why we picked it
Belkin 12-Outlet Surge Protector Power Strip w/ 12 AC Outlets & 8ft Flat Plug, UL-Listed Heavy-Duty Extension Cord for Home, Office, Travel, Computer, Laptop, Charger - 3,780 Joules of Protection
โ See why we picked itMany combined AC-plus-USB units surge-protect the AC outlets but provide no meaningful surge suppression on the USB output circuitry itself, since USB ports operate at low DC voltage where the AC-side MOV protection may not extend, a distinction almost never clarified.
A surge event that damages the AC-side surge protection circuitry doesn't necessarily disable the USB ports, or vice versa, meaning the two protected-charging halves of the product can have independent failure states that a single indicator light doesn't distinguish.
5 Criteria to Look For Before Buying a Surge Protectors with USB Port
Key buying criteria so you get the right fit the first time.
Check the disclosed joule rating, not just the word "surge protector"
A joule rating measures how much total surge energy a device can absorb before it needs replacing, and plenty of products marketed simply as a "power strip" or "surge protector" either omit this number entirely or bury it deep in the specs.
This matters because a device with no real joule rating, or a very low one under 600, may offer only minimal protection, essentially a glorified extension cord with a marketing label, while a legitimate surge protector for computer or home-office equipment typically starts around 1000 to 2000 joules or higher.
Look for the specific joule number stated in the listing title or bullet points, and treat any listing that only says "surge protection" with no number attached as a red flag.
Match outlet count and spacing to what you're actually plugging in
The number of outlets on the spec sheet doesn't tell the whole story, spacing between outlets matters just as much, since bulky wall adapters or power bricks for a monitor, printer, or charger can block adjacent outlets even on a strip that technically has enough slots.
This is a common real-world frustration where a 6-outlet strip effectively becomes a 3 or 4-outlet strip once actual devices are plugged in.
Check product photos and reviews for outlet spacing specifically, and count how many bulky adapters you'll actually need to plug in side by side before assuming the listed outlet count covers your setup.
Verify UL listing, since surge protection claims aren't self-certifying
UL (Underwriters Laboratories) certification is an independent third-party safety and performance verification, not a marketing claim a manufacturer can just assert on its own.
A genuine surge protector should carry UL 1449 certification specifically, the standard for surge protective devices, distinct from a basic UL listing that only covers general electrical safety without verifying surge performance. This matters because an uncertified device may not actually clamp voltage spikes as claimed, leaving connected equipment exposed despite the "surge protector" label.
Check the listing or product photos for a UL 1449 mark specifically, not just a generic UL logo.
Consider USB ports and their combined wattage, not just port count
A strip listing 4 USB ports doesn't guarantee those ports can charge 4 devices at full speed simultaneously, the ports typically share a combined wattage budget, so charging speed can drop noticeably when multiple devices draw power at once.
This matters more if you regularly charge a phone, tablet, and other device all at the same time from the same strip, versus occasional single-device charging.
Check the listing for total USB output in watts, not just the port count, and compare that figure against your devices' actual charging requirements if fast charging matters to you.
Check the warranty and connected-equipment protection guarantee
Many legitimate surge protectors back their protection with a manufacturer's connected-equipment warranty, a dollar-amount guarantee to cover damage to plugged-in devices if the surge protector fails to do its job.
This is a meaningfully stronger signal of manufacturer confidence than a basic product warranty covering only the strip itself, since it puts real money behind the surge-protection claim.
Check the listing for a specific connected-equipment warranty amount and duration, and treat the absence of one as a sign the surge protection claim may be more marketing than substance.
5 Best Surge Protectors with USB Ports in 2026
Surge Protector Power Strip - Nuetsa Flat Plug Extension Cord with 8 Outlets and 4 USB Ports, 6 Feet Power Cord, 2700 Joules, ETL Listed, Black

About this pick
8 outlets and 4 USB ports at a genuinely disclosed 2700 joules on the AC side, with a large, well-established review base. ETL listed.\n\nVerify whether the USB ports specifically carry any surge protection or rely solely on the AC-side MOV circuitry, a scope distinction most combined units don't clarify.
It leads this comparison on the strength of its balance of disclosed joule rating, outlet count, and review base, worth weighing directly against the Power Strip.
Worth knowing before you decide: Large, well-established review base. On the other side, USB-side surge protection scope not explicitly disclosed. That's the main tradeoff to weigh against your own equipment and outlet needs.
Best for: Buyers who want strong AC-side surge protection alongside basic USB charging
Check price on AmazonPros
- +Explicit 2700 joule AC-side surge protection
- +Large, well-established review base
- +4 USB ports for charging
- +ETL listed
Cons
- โUSB-side surge protection scope not explicitly disclosed
- โNo USB-C port
- โSingle indicator light doesn't distinguish AC vs. USB failure
Power Strip, ALESTOR Surge Protector with 12 Outlets and 4 USB Ports, 6 Feet Extension Cord, 2700 Joules, ETL Listed, Black

About this pick
12 outlets and 4 USB ports with a large, well-established review base and genuine 2700 joule AC-side protection. ETL listed.\n\nAs with any combined unit, the UL/ETL listing here likely covers the AC-outlet performance specifically, not necessarily the USB-side charging circuitry.
Set against the Surge Protector Power Strip, the tradeoff here comes down to price versus disclosed joule rating and outlet count, not a straightforward upgrade or downgrade either way.
Worth knowing before you decide: Large, well-established review base. On the other side, USB-side protection scope not explicitly disclosed. That's the main tradeoff to weigh against your own equipment and outlet needs.
Best for: Buyers who need maximum outlet count with basic USB charging and AC surge protection
Check price on AmazonPros
- +High outlet count with genuine AC-side surge protection
- +Large, well-established review base
- +4 USB ports included
- +ETL listed
Cons
- โUSB-side protection scope not explicitly disclosed
- โNo USB-C port
- โLarger footprint
Surge Protector Power Strip - CHCORE 5Ft Braided Extension Cord with 8 Outlets with 4 USB (2 USB C) Charging Ports, Flat Plug Multi Plug Outlet Extender Charging Station for Home Office, ETL, White

About this pick
8 outlets and 2 USB-C ports among 4 total, at a genuinely affordable price with a braided cord for durability. ETL listed.\n\nBudget combined units are more likely to cut corners on either the AC-side joule rating or USB-side protection specifically, verify this listing's specific joule number before assuming full coverage.
Relative to the Power Strip, this pick leans toward a different priority, whether that's a lower price, more outlets, or a form factor suited to a different install situation.
Worth knowing before you decide: Braided cord for durability. On the other side, Verify the specific AC-side joule rating for this listing. That's the main tradeoff to weigh against your own equipment and outlet needs.
Best for: Budget-conscious buyers who want USB-C ports alongside basic surge protection
Check price on AmazonPros
- +Very affordable for the outlet and USB-C count
- +Braided cord for durability
- +ETL listed
- +2 USB-C ports included
Cons
- โVerify the specific AC-side joule rating for this listing
- โUSB-side surge protection scope not disclosed
- โShorter cord than premium alternatives
Surge Protector Power Strip 15 Ft Cord, Ultra Thin Flat Extension Cord with 8 Outlets 4 USB Ports(2 USB C), Flat Plug Power Strip, 15 Ft Long Braided Power Cord for Home, Office, Dorm Room Essentials

About this pick
A genuinely long 15ft braided cord with 8 outlets and 2 USB-C ports among 4 total, useful if your desk sits far from the wall outlet. Strong rating base.\n\nThe added cost of USB-C circuitry alongside a long cord and surge protection may mean tradeoffs elsewhere, verify the specific AC-side joule rating for this listing.
Compared with the Surge Protector Power Strip above, this pick trades some of that pick's proven track record for a different balance of price and joule rating, worth weighing against your own equipment.
Worth knowing before you decide: 2 USB-C ports among 4 total. On the other side, Verify specific AC-side joule rating. That's the main tradeoff to weigh against your own equipment and outlet needs.
Best for: Buyers whose desk sits far from the outlet needing USB-C charging with surge protection
Check price on AmazonPros
- +Genuinely long 15ft cord for distant placement
- +2 USB-C ports among 4 total
- +Braided cord for durability
- +Strong rating base
Cons
- โVerify specific AC-side joule rating
- โUSB-side surge protection scope not disclosed
- โUltra-thin design may affect durability
Belkin 12-Outlet Surge Protector Power Strip w/ 12 AC Outlets & 8ft Flat Plug, UL-Listed Heavy-Duty Extension Cord for Home, Office, Travel, Computer, Laptop, Charger - 3,780 Joules of Protection

About this pick
UL listed with 3,780 joules from an established brand, though this specific listing doesn't confirm USB port inclusion, verify against the exact product page before assuming charging capability alongside the surge protection.\n\nEstablished brand reputation gives more confidence that any USB circuitry included meets a reasonable quality bar, even without explicit USB-side protection disclosure.
Set against the Surge Protector Power Strip 15 Ft Cord, the tradeoff here comes down to price versus disclosed joule rating and outlet count, not a straightforward upgrade or downgrade either way.
Worth knowing before you decide: UL listed for verified AC-side safety. On the other side, Verify USB port inclusion on this specific listing. That's the main tradeoff to weigh against your own equipment and outlet needs.
Best for: Buyers who prioritize established-brand AC-side protection and will verify USB inclusion separately
Check price on AmazonPros
- +Established Belkin brand reputation
- +UL listed for verified AC-side safety
- +High joule rating and outlet count
- +8ft cord for placement flexibility
Cons
- โVerify USB port inclusion on this specific listing
- โHigher price than basic combined units
- โUSB-side protection scope not disclosed if present
How We Evaluated These Surge Protectors with USB Ports
Each pick was assessed across 3 criteria weighted for real-world use.
USB-side surge protection scope flagged as unclear across the category
Noted that many combined units surge-protect the AC outlets but provide no meaningful surge suppression on the USB output circuitry itself, a distinction almost never clarified on product listings.
Independent failure-state possibility for AC vs. USB circuitry
Considered that a surge event damaging AC-side protection doesn't necessarily disable USB ports, or vice versa, meaning a single indicator light doesn't distinguish between the two failure states.
UL 1449 certification scope clarified for combined products
Flagged that a 'UL 1449 listed' claim on a combined unit's packaging may only certify AC-outlet performance, not USB-side protection, a certification-scope nuance rarely explained.
How to Choose the Right Surge Protectors with USB Ports
By Disclosed Joule Rating
| Your priority | Recommended pick |
|---|---|
| Around 3780 joules | Belkin 12 |
| Around 2700 joules | Surge Protector Power Strip |
| Around 2700 joules | Power Strip |
By Budget
| Budget | Recommended pick |
|---|---|
| Under $10 | Surge Protector Power Strip |
| Up to $29 | Belkin 12 |
Joule Rating vs Price
Surge Protector Power Strip
The lower-priced option in this comparison, worth checking its disclosed joule rating against your equipment's value.
Belkin 12
The higher-priced option, worth it if it offers real protection headroom above the cheaper pick's rating.
Default to Surge Protector Power Strip unless your equipment's value genuinely calls for more protection.
By Plug Type
| Desk situation | Recommended pick |
|---|---|
| Tight space behind furniture, flat plug needed | Surge Protector Power Strip |
| Standard outlet clearance | Power Strip |
For a Home Office Setup Specifically
Look for
A disclosed joule rating of at least 1000-2000 with UL 1449 certification, plus enough spaced outlets for a monitor, dock, and peripherals.
In this comparison
Belkin 12 discloses the highest joule rating at 3780 joules.
When to Spend More
Spend more if
Your equipment is expensive or sensitive, where Belkin 12's higher price buys real protection headroom over the cheaper picks.
Save if
You're protecting lower-value, easily replaceable electronics, where Surge Protector Power Strip covers the same basic job at a lower price.
Frequently Asked Questions
Do the USB ports on a combined power strip have surge protection too?
Not necessarily. Many combined units surge-protect the AC outlets but provide no meaningful surge suppression on the USB output circuitry itself, this scope gap is almost never clarified on product listings.
If the surge protection light is on, are my USB-charged devices protected too?
Not guaranteed. A single indicator light typically reflects only the AC-side MOV status, the AC and USB circuitry can have independent failure states that one light doesn't distinguish.
Does UL 1449 certification cover USB ports on a combined power strip?
Usually just the AC side. UL 1449 specifically addresses AC transient voltage surge suppression, a combined unit's 'UL 1449 listed' claim may only certify the AC-outlet performance, not the USB-side charging circuitry.
Do power strips with USB ports have weaker surge protection than AC-only strips?
Sometimes, at the budget tier specifically. Adding USB circuitry increases cost, and some budget combined units cut corners on joule rating to stay price-competitive, compare against a similarly priced AC-only strip to check.
Bottom Line
best overall: Surge Protector Power Strip - Nuetsa Flat Plug Extension Cord with 8 Outlets and 4 USB Ports, 6 Feet Power Cord, 2700 Joules, ETL Listed, Black - best surge protector with usb ports overall pick in this roundup.
See the full rankings above for all picks with pros, cons, and best-for summaries.
Browse on Amazon
All Prime-eligible options with current pricing.
Shop on Amazon โ