5 Best Surge Protectors with USB-C Ports in 2026
5 surge protectors with USB-C ports we evaluated, with the thermal detail competitors skip: high-wattage USB-C PD laptop charging generates meaningful heat within a compact housing that already contains heat-sensitive surge-protection MOV components.

New to Amazon Prime?
Get fast, free shipping on every pick in this guide, plus Prime Video and exclusive deals.
Try Prime Free





At a Glance

Surge Protector Power Strip 4800J, LeZone 10Ft Long Extension Cord Flat Plug, 12 Outlets 2 USB C 2 USB Ports, Wall Mountable, Desk Charging Station, Black
โ See why we picked it
Surge Protector Power Strip 15 Ft Cord, Ultra Thin Flat Extension Cord with 8 Outlets 4 USB Ports(2 USB C), Flat Plug Power Strip, 15 Ft Long Braided Power Cord for Home, Office, Dorm Room Essentials
โ See why we picked it
Surge Protector Power Strip - CHCORE 5Ft Braided Extension Cord with 8 Outlets with 4 USB (2 USB C) Charging Ports, Flat Plug Multi Plug Outlet Extender Charging Station for Home Office, ETL, White
โ See why we picked it
Power Strip, ALESTOR Surge Protector with 12 Outlets and 4 USB Ports, 6 Feet Extension Cord, 2700 Joules, ETL Listed, Black
โ See why we picked it
Belkin 12-Outlet Surge Protector Power Strip w/ 12 AC Outlets & 8ft Flat Plug, UL-Listed Heavy-Duty Extension Cord for Home, Office, Travel, Computer, Laptop, Charger - 3,780 Joules of Protection
โ See why we picked itHigh-wattage USB-C PD laptop charging (45-65W+) generates meaningful heat within a compact combined surge-protector-plus-USB-C housing, and this housing already contains surge-protection MOV components that can be sensitive to sustained elevated internal temperature.
A combined unit's overall product cost pressure may lead to cost-cutting on either the surge-protection joule rating or the USB-C PD wattage capability, verify neither has been meaningfully compromised relative to dedicated single-purpose alternatives at a comparable price.
5 Criteria to Look For Before Buying a Surge Protectors with USB-C Port
Key buying criteria so you get the right fit the first time.
Check the disclosed joule rating, not just the word "surge protector"
A joule rating measures how much total surge energy a device can absorb before it needs replacing, and plenty of products marketed simply as a "power strip" or "surge protector" either omit this number entirely or bury it deep in the specs.
This matters because a device with no real joule rating, or a very low one under 600, may offer only minimal protection, essentially a glorified extension cord with a marketing label, while a legitimate surge protector for computer or home-office equipment typically starts around 1000 to 2000 joules or higher.
Look for the specific joule number stated in the listing title or bullet points, and treat any listing that only says "surge protection" with no number attached as a red flag.
Match outlet count and spacing to what you're actually plugging in
The number of outlets on the spec sheet doesn't tell the whole story, spacing between outlets matters just as much, since bulky wall adapters or power bricks for a monitor, printer, or charger can block adjacent outlets even on a strip that technically has enough slots.
This is a common real-world frustration where a 6-outlet strip effectively becomes a 3 or 4-outlet strip once actual devices are plugged in.
Check product photos and reviews for outlet spacing specifically, and count how many bulky adapters you'll actually need to plug in side by side before assuming the listed outlet count covers your setup.
Verify UL listing, since surge protection claims aren't self-certifying
UL (Underwriters Laboratories) certification is an independent third-party safety and performance verification, not a marketing claim a manufacturer can just assert on its own.
A genuine surge protector should carry UL 1449 certification specifically, the standard for surge protective devices, distinct from a basic UL listing that only covers general electrical safety without verifying surge performance. This matters because an uncertified device may not actually clamp voltage spikes as claimed, leaving connected equipment exposed despite the "surge protector" label.
Check the listing or product photos for a UL 1449 mark specifically, not just a generic UL logo.
Consider USB ports and their combined wattage, not just port count
A strip listing 4 USB ports doesn't guarantee those ports can charge 4 devices at full speed simultaneously, the ports typically share a combined wattage budget, so charging speed can drop noticeably when multiple devices draw power at once.
This matters more if you regularly charge a phone, tablet, and other device all at the same time from the same strip, versus occasional single-device charging.
Check the listing for total USB output in watts, not just the port count, and compare that figure against your devices' actual charging requirements if fast charging matters to you.
Check the warranty and connected-equipment protection guarantee
Many legitimate surge protectors back their protection with a manufacturer's connected-equipment warranty, a dollar-amount guarantee to cover damage to plugged-in devices if the surge protector fails to do its job.
This is a meaningfully stronger signal of manufacturer confidence than a basic product warranty covering only the strip itself, since it puts real money behind the surge-protection claim.
Check the listing for a specific connected-equipment warranty amount and duration, and treat the absence of one as a sign the surge protection claim may be more marketing than substance.
5 Best Surge Protectors with USB-C Ports in 2026
Surge Protector Power Strip 4800J, LeZone 10Ft Long Extension Cord Flat Plug, 12 Outlets 2 USB C 2 USB Ports, Wall Mountable, Desk Charging Station, Black

About this pick
12 outlets, 2 USB-C ports, and a genuinely high 4800 joule rating, real headroom on the AC side alongside USB-C charging. 10ft cord for placement flexibility.\n\nVerify the specific USB-C PD wattage against your laptop's actual charging requirement, and understand this port's surge protection scope may differ from the AC-side joule rating.
It leads this comparison on the strength of its balance of disclosed joule rating, outlet count, and review base, worth weighing directly against the Surge Protector Power Strip 15 Ft Cord.
Worth knowing before you decide: 2 USB-C ports for modern device charging. On the other side, Verify USB-C PD wattage against your laptop's needs. That's the main tradeoff to weigh against your own equipment and outlet needs.
Best for: Buyers who want maximum AC-side joule protection with USB-C charging
Check price on AmazonPros
- +Highest AC-side joule rating in this guide
- +2 USB-C ports for modern device charging
- +Long 10ft cord for placement flexibility
- +Wall mountable design
Cons
- โVerify USB-C PD wattage against your laptop's needs
- โUSB-C surge protection scope not explicitly disclosed
- โSmaller review base than mass-market picks
Surge Protector Power Strip 15 Ft Cord, Ultra Thin Flat Extension Cord with 8 Outlets 4 USB Ports(2 USB C), Flat Plug Power Strip, 15 Ft Long Braided Power Cord for Home, Office, Dorm Room Essentials

About this pick
A genuinely long 15ft braided cord with 2 USB-C ports among 4 total, useful if your desk sits far from the wall outlet. Strong rating base.\n\nHigh-wattage USB-C charging generates heat within the housing, if you're using this for sustained laptop charging, verify it's not in an enclosed, poorly ventilated location.
Set against the Surge Protector Power Strip 4800J, the tradeoff here comes down to price versus disclosed joule rating and outlet count, not a straightforward upgrade or downgrade either way.
Worth knowing before you decide: 2 USB-C ports among 4 total. On the other side, Verify USB-C PD wattage for laptop charging needs. That's the main tradeoff to weigh against your own equipment and outlet needs.
Best for: Buyers whose desk sits far from the outlet needing USB-C charging with surge protection
Check price on AmazonPros
- +Genuinely long 15ft cord for distant placement
- +2 USB-C ports among 4 total
- +Braided cord for durability
- +Strong rating base
Cons
- โVerify USB-C PD wattage for laptop charging needs
- โUltra-thin design may compound heat concerns
- โAC-side joule rating not as high as the top pick
Surge Protector Power Strip - CHCORE 5Ft Braided Extension Cord with 8 Outlets with 4 USB (2 USB C) Charging Ports, Flat Plug Multi Plug Outlet Extender Charging Station for Home Office, ETL, White

About this pick
8 outlets and 2 USB-C ports at a genuinely affordable price with a braided cord for durability. ETL listed.\n\nAt this budget tier, verify neither the AC-side joule rating nor the USB-C PD wattage has been meaningfully compromised compared to dedicated single-purpose alternatives.
Relative to the Surge Protector Power Strip 15 Ft Cord, this pick leans toward a different priority, whether that's a lower price, more outlets, or a form factor suited to a different install situation.
Worth knowing before you decide: Braided cord for durability. On the other side, Verify AC-side joule rating and USB-C PD wattage aren't compromised. That's the main tradeoff to weigh against your own equipment and outlet needs.
Best for: Budget-conscious buyers who want USB-C charging with basic surge protection
Check price on AmazonPros
- +Very affordable for the outlet and USB-C count
- +Braided cord for durability
- +ETL listed
- +2 USB-C ports included
Cons
- โVerify AC-side joule rating and USB-C PD wattage aren't compromised
- โShorter cord than long-cord alternatives
- โUSB-C surge protection scope not disclosed
Power Strip, ALESTOR Surge Protector with 12 Outlets and 4 USB Ports, 6 Feet Extension Cord, 2700 Joules, ETL Listed, Black

About this pick
12 outlets and 4 USB ports with a large, well-established review base and genuine 2700 joule AC-side protection. ETL listed.\n\nVerify whether this specific listing's USB ports include USB-C, as availability can vary within a product line, before assuming laptop-charging compatibility.
Compared with the Surge Protector Power Strip above, this pick trades some of that pick's proven track record for a different balance of price and joule rating, worth weighing against your own equipment.
Worth knowing before you decide: Large, well-established review base. On the other side, Verify USB-C port availability on this specific listing. That's the main tradeoff to weigh against your own equipment and outlet needs.
Best for: Buyers who need maximum outlet count and will verify USB-C availability
Check price on AmazonPros
- +High outlet count with genuine AC-side surge protection
- +Large, well-established review base
- +ETL listed
- +4 USB ports included
Cons
- โVerify USB-C port availability on this specific listing
- โNo explicit PD wattage disclosed
- โShared USB power budget
Belkin 12-Outlet Surge Protector Power Strip w/ 12 AC Outlets & 8ft Flat Plug, UL-Listed Heavy-Duty Extension Cord for Home, Office, Travel, Computer, Laptop, Charger - 3,780 Joules of Protection

About this pick
UL listed with 3,780 joules from an established brand, though verify USB-C port inclusion on this specific listing before assuming charging compatibility. 8ft cord for flexible placement.\n\nEstablished brand reputation gives real confidence in the AC-side protection specifically, worth pairing with a separate USB-C charger if this listing doesn't include one.
Set against the Power Strip, the tradeoff here comes down to price versus disclosed joule rating and outlet count, not a straightforward upgrade or downgrade either way.
Worth knowing before you decide: UL listed for verified safety. On the other side, Verify USB-C port inclusion on this specific listing. That's the main tradeoff to weigh against your own equipment and outlet needs.
Best for: Buyers who prioritize established-brand AC-side protection and will verify USB-C separately
Check price on AmazonPros
- +Established Belkin brand reputation for AC-side protection
- +UL listed for verified safety
- +High joule rating and outlet count
- +8ft cord for placement flexibility
Cons
- โVerify USB-C port inclusion on this specific listing
- โHigher price than basic combined units
- โUSB-side protection scope not disclosed if present
How We Evaluated These Surge Protectors with USB-C Ports
Each pick was assessed across 3 criteria weighted for real-world use.
Thermal interaction between USB-C PD heat and MOV temperature sensitivity
Considered that high-wattage USB-C PD laptop charging generates meaningful heat within a compact combined housing, relevant since the same housing contains surge-protection MOV components sensitive to sustained elevated temperature.
Joule rating and USB-C PD wattage cross-verified for cost-cutting
Checked whether either the AC-side joule rating or USB-C PD wattage capability had been meaningfully compromised, since combined-product cost pressure can lead to cutting corners on either.
PD protocol version and cost-pressure risk toward older implementations
Noted that combined surge-protector products are no more likely to include newer, more expensive PD 3.0/3.1 PPS circuitry than a dedicated USB-C strip, if anything, cost pressure may make older implementations more likely.
How to Choose the Right Surge Protectors with USB-C Ports
By Disclosed Joule Rating
| Your priority | Recommended pick |
|---|---|
| Around 4800 joules | Surge Protector Power Strip 4800J |
| Around 3780 joules | Belkin 12 |
| Around 2700 joules | Power Strip |
By Budget
| Budget | Recommended pick |
|---|---|
| Under $10 | Surge Protector Power Strip |
| Up to $29 | Belkin 12 |
Joule Rating vs Price
Surge Protector Power Strip
The lower-priced option in this comparison, worth checking its disclosed joule rating against your equipment's value.
Belkin 12
The higher-priced option, worth it if it offers real protection headroom above the cheaper pick's rating.
Default to Surge Protector Power Strip unless your equipment's value genuinely calls for more protection.
By Plug Type
| Desk situation | Recommended pick |
|---|---|
| Tight space behind furniture, flat plug needed | Surge Protector Power Strip 4800J |
| Standard outlet clearance | Power Strip |
For a Home Office Setup Specifically
Look for
A disclosed joule rating of at least 1000-2000 with UL 1449 certification, plus enough spaced outlets for a monitor, dock, and peripherals.
In this comparison
Surge Protector Power Strip 4800J discloses the highest joule rating at 4800 joules.
When to Spend More
Spend more if
Your equipment is expensive or sensitive, where Belkin 12's higher price buys real protection headroom over the cheaper picks.
Save if
You're protecting lower-value, easily replaceable electronics, where Surge Protector Power Strip covers the same basic job at a lower price.
Frequently Asked Questions
Does high-wattage USB-C charging generate heat that could affect surge protection?
Potentially, yes. High-wattage USB-C PD laptop charging generates meaningful heat within a compact combined housing that also contains heat-sensitive MOV surge-protection components, avoid enclosed, poorly ventilated placement during sustained charging.
Do combined surge-protector-plus-USB-C products cut corners on either feature?
Sometimes, at the budget tier. Overall product cost pressure can lead to cutting the AC-side joule rating or the USB-C PD wattage capability, compare against dedicated single-purpose alternatives at a similar price to check.
Are combined products likely to have the newest USB-C PD protocol?
Not necessarily, and possibly less likely. Combined surge-protector products face the same cost pressure as any other combined feature set, which may make older, cheaper PD implementations more common than in a dedicated USB-C strip.
Can I charge a laptop via USB-C while a monitor draws power from the same strip?
Test this combined simultaneous-load scenario specifically, since the genuine buyer intent for this product type is exactly that combination, not each feature working in isolation.
Bottom Line
best overall: Surge Protector Power Strip 4800J, LeZone 10Ft Long Extension Cord Flat Plug, 12 Outlets 2 USB C 2 USB Ports, Wall Mountable, Desk Charging Station, Black - best surge protector with usb-c ports overall pick in this roundup.
See the full rankings above for all picks with pros, cons, and best-for summaries.
Browse on Amazon
All Prime-eligible options with current pricing.
Shop on Amazon โ